AMD RM-70

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Wed 27. May 2009, 23:41

DavidG wrote:... I'll upload a small python script (a bit like read_msr) that I would like you to run and report the feedback.. I'll upload that ASAP.
It's in the Download section (AMD hw_pstate_ctrl.py)
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

obino
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 5. Jan 2009, 12:27
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by obino » Fri 29. May 2009, 01:21

Congratulations for your second son!

I'm suprrised and glad you managed to work on this :)

Anyway, this is the result on my rm70

=== CPU 0 ===
Raw: 8000017b0000480c
Fid: 12
Did: 0
Vid: 36
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2000MHz
Voltage: 1.1V
Current: 12.3A
Raw: 8000013c0000604c
Fid: 12
Did: 1
Vid: 48
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1000MHz
Voltage: 0.95V
Current: 6A
Raw: 8000011d0000788c
Fid: 12
Did: 2
Vid: 60
PState En: 1
Frequency: 500MHz
Voltage: 0.8V
Current: 2.9A
=== CPU 1 ===
Raw: 8000017b0000480c
Fid: 12
Did: 0
Vid: 36
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2000MHz
Voltage: 1.1V
Current: 12.3A
Raw: 8000013c0000604c
Fid: 12
Did: 1
Vid: 48
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1000MHz
Voltage: 0.95V
Current: 6A
Raw: 8000011d0000788c
Fid: 12
Did: 2
Vid: 60
PState En: 1
Frequency: 500MHz
Voltage: 0.8V
Current: 2.9A

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Fri 29. May 2009, 10:26

Thanks! That's interesting, I have a RM-70 as well, but it has higher "current" values than yours, the rest is identical... E.g. in PState 1, mine has "14.2A" which is 15% more than yours...

If anyone has a Phenom I/II or a ZM-8x, could you run this script as well...? It is harmless to your hardware...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

geos_one
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 19. May 2009, 00:08
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by geos_one » Wed 3. Jun 2009, 21:31

here th output of the script
excuseme for responding that late i did not get a notice for a new entry in this topic

=== CPU 0 ===
Raw: 8000018b00004810
Fid: 16
Did: 0
Vid: 36
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2400MHz
Voltage: 1.1V
Current: 13.9A
Raw: 8000013f00006050
Fid: 16
Did: 1
Vid: 48
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1200MHz
Voltage: 0.95V
Current: 6.3A
Raw: 8000011d00007890
Fid: 16
Did: 2
Vid: 60
PState En: 1
Frequency: 600MHz
Voltage: 0.8V
Current: 2.9A
=== CPU 1 ===
Raw: 8000018b00004810
Fid: 16
Did: 0
Vid: 36
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2400MHz
Voltage: 1.1V
Current: 13.9A
Raw: 8000013f00006050
Fid: 16
Did: 1
Vid: 48
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1200MHz
Voltage: 0.95V
Current: 6.3A
Raw: 8000011d00007890
Fid: 16
Did: 2
Vid: 60
PState En: 1
Frequency: 600MHz
Voltage: 0.8V
Current: 2.9A

processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 17
model : 3
model name : AMD Turion(tm) X2 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile ZM-86
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 600.000
cache size : 1024 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch osvw skinit
bogomips : 4802.12
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 17
model : 3
model name : AMD Turion(tm) X2 Ultra Dual-Core Mobile ZM-86
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 600.000
cache size : 1024 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch osvw skinit
bogomips : 4801.76
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 00:02

Hi!

I just registered to give you some info but I don't really know if it helps you, as the data somehow don't fit my CPU.
I have a Phenom II X2 550 BE, running at stock speed of 3100Mhz with the following clocksteps:

3100Mhz, 2400Mhz, 1900Mhz, 800Mhz

I don't exactly know, but the stock core voltage at 3100Mhz is 1,325V (i don't know if this helps you at all, as i don't know anything about the corresponding VID... but as this value is exactly the same as for the 2300Mhz entry, I think that at least the VIDs and corresponding Voltages are correct.)
The script returns following data:

=== CPU 0 ===
Raw: 800000204800240f
Fid: 15
Did: 0
Vid: 18
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2300MHz
Voltage: 1.325V
Current: 32A
Raw: 800001ea48003408
Fid: 8
Did: 0
Vid: 26
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1600MHz
Voltage: 1.225V
Current: 23.4A
Raw: 800001bd48004403
Fid: 3
Did: 0
Vid: 34
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1100MHz
Voltage: 1.125V
Current: 18.9A
Raw: 8000017b48005c40
Fid: 0
Did: 1
Vid: 46
PState En: 1
Frequency: 400MHz
Voltage: 0.975V
Current: 12.3A
=== CPU 1 ===
Raw: 800000204800240f
Fid: 15
Did: 0
Vid: 18
PState En: 1
Frequency: 2300MHz
Voltage: 1.325V
Current: 32A
Raw: 800001ea48003408
Fid: 8
Did: 0
Vid: 26
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1600MHz
Voltage: 1.225V
Current: 23.4A
Raw: 800001bd48004403
Fid: 3
Did: 0
Vid: 34
PState En: 1
Frequency: 1100MHz
Voltage: 1.125V
Current: 18.9A
Raw: 8000017b48005c40
Fid: 0
Did: 1
Vid: 46
PState En: 1
Frequency: 400MHz
Voltage: 0.975V
Current: 12.3A

Hopefully this helps.. My system's power consumption went from 125W to 100-105W running mprime stable at full load, after I changed the Core Voltage from 1,325V to 1,150V in BIOS, but I just don't want to have it running at 3,1Ghz in idle state ;)

Btw: This is a great tool, i'm using it on my laptop and it made that damn fan noise go away ;)

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 00:26

Thanks! Great to have some data of a Phenom II. This was exactly what I was hoping for! Here, both the Frequency multiplier and the divider are used to get the corresponding frequencies.

According to your processor registers, the lowest frequency should be 400MHz BTW, not 800MHz... Can you verify that?
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 16:39

Hi!

Actually I don't know, whether 800 or 400 is correct, but the gnome cpufreq-plugin shows 800Mhz as lowest state and 3,1Ghz as highest. So i think that the gnome-values are correct, because 3,1Ghz is the clock which the BIOS uses. Theoretically the CPU could be clocked down to 100Mhz because it is a Black Edition version.

Another interesting thing that i found is a document from AMD (downloadable on their homepage) called the "BIOS and Kernel Developer’s Guide (BKDG) For AMD Family 10h Processors". I'll attach it to this post (I hope that this is allowed, but I think so, maybe you already know it..). There you can find a lot of information about the registers, p-states, etc.

For Example on page 283 there's something about Divisors, 338 gives "P-State Specification registers", ...
On page 355 there's a table for a CPUID-Register, where it reads:

EDX 2 VID: Voltage ID control is supported = 0 (function replaced by HwPstate).
EDX 1 FID: Frequency ID control is supported = 0 (function replaced by HwPstate).

So maybe this is the reason for the script to return values that don't fit to my CPU?
Unfortunately i don't understand enough about CPU low level programming to really know whether I'm right or not... but maybe it helps you..

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 16:50

somehow uploading didn't work.

Here's a link:
http://support.amd.com/us/psearch/Pages ... s&items=20

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 18:59

v0lle85 wrote:Another interesting thing that i found is a document from AMD (downloadable on their homepage) called the "BIOS and Kernel Developer’s Guide (BKDG) For AMD Family 10h Processors". I'll attach it to this post (I hope that this is allowed, but I think so, maybe you already know it..). There you can find a lot of information about the registers, p-states, etc.
He I know, that's pretty much the bible on which all my work will be based :)

It makes "The Fallen" so jealous that AMD provides such documentation and Intel not! ;)
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Sat 13. Jun 2009, 19:27

Hehe ok... somehow i knew, that you already have it, but telling you though was more efficient than first asking you ;)

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable