AMD RM-70

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Mon 15. Jun 2009, 11:19

v0lle85 wrote:Actually I don't know, whether 800 or 400 is correct, but the gnome cpufreq-plugin shows 800Mhz as lowest state and 3,1Ghz as highest.
Could you please post the output of this (preferably when running at the lowest speed):

Code: Select all

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
dmesg|grep '\-k8'
cat /proc/cpuinfo
Because according to AMD specifications, the frequency should definitely be 400MHz, but the existing powernow-k8 driver does not calculate it, it just blindly uses the BIOS advertised frequency. I think I may have to contact AMD about this...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Tue 16. Jun 2009, 08:58

Actually, with kernel 2.6.30, you SHOULD get 400MHz as lowest frequency, even if your BIOS is faulty... Would it be possible for you to check this? It would be most helpful, not just for Linux-PHC...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Sat 20. Jun 2009, 20:18

Hi!
Here's what I got... at lowest Frequency:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

3100000 2400000 1900000 800000
3100000 2400000 1900000 800000


dmesg|grep '\-k8'

[ 3.298149] powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 550 Processor processors (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[ 3.298209] powernow-k8: 0 : pstate 0 (3100 MHz)
[ 3.298242] powernow-k8: 1 : pstate 1 (2400 MHz)
[ 3.298273] powernow-k8: 2 : pstate 2 (1900 MHz)
[ 3.298303] powernow-k8: 3 : pstate 3 (800 MHz)


/proc/cpuinfo

processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 4
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 550 Processor
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 800.000
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good pni monitor cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 6186.17
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 4
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X2 550 Processor
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 800.000
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good pni monitor cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 6186.37
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate



I'm running Kernel 2.6.28-11-generic.

I'll try to upgrade.

Greetings!

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Sun 21. Jun 2009, 23:35

OIC, never mind, I was reading the wrong spec. I assumed Phenom II where family 0x11 processors, but they are 0x10 processors just like the Phenom I.
For 0x10 family: Frequency = (100MHz * (fid + 16))/did
For 0x11 family: Frequency = (100MHz * (fid + 8))/did

So then they are the correct frequencies...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Tue 23. Jun 2009, 16:10

So you don't need additional Information? Cause I ran into some problems with Kernel 2.6.30 + ATI drivers..

Oh... and you obviously ment (FID+16)*100Mhz/(DID+1), didn't you? Just interested... ;)

Another thing that would be of interest for me: Till now i used the PHC-Tool for just undervolting for the given states... Is it also possible to create my own states by adding a line with custom FID and DID Values so that i would be able to clock the CPU down to 100Mhz when idle or similar? That would be great, because i'd like to build up some kind of media-server so that it would be pretty important to reduce power consumption in idle state..

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Wed 24. Jun 2009, 09:39

I updated the hw_pstate_ctrl.py to properly recognize and support Phenom's (family 10h) processors. You could try and see if the correct frequencies are displayed now, but I'm convinced that it should be the case now.

Offtopic: If you are using binary drivers like me, ATI binary drivers officially do not support 2.6.29 and 2.6.30 kernels... AFAIK, there are some patches available to get it working, but I haven't tried on 2.6.30 yet...

.edit: actually I ment "..../(1 << did)" for both
;)
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

v0lle85
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri 12. Jun 2009, 23:51
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by v0lle85 » Thu 25. Jun 2009, 13:16

Hi!

Just made a break from learning Physics and used the time for testing your script. It's working now and I really like that power estimation-feature ;)

@offtopic: Yesterday I manually applied the patches for catalyst 9.5 i found on a gentoo-forum to catalyst 9.6. It works like a charm now. Especially suspend to ram with activated fglrx didn't work for me before... I'll try to make a diff as soon as possible, if you'd like to use it.

@edit: Yeah, I now remember that part of the Developers Guide ;)

geos_one
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 19. May 2009, 00:08
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by geos_one » Fri 4. Sep 2009, 18:30

there is a linux tool http://www.ztex.de/misc/k10ctl.e.html

i did not get it running but it could be usefull for others until the phc version is ready

thx
Mario

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by DavidG » Mon 7. Sep 2009, 09:34

geos_one wrote:there is a linux tool http://www.ztex.de/misc/k10ctl.e.html

i did not get it running but it could be usefull for others until the phc version is ready

thx
Mario
It does everything I am able to do, however this seriously could screws up the powernow-k8 driver. Also, if your additional cores (> CPU0) are temporarily shutdown for powersaving, all settings are immediately lost. That is the biggest challenge I'm facing at the moment :?

And also, I don't know where to put the nothbridge VID control /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/ is obviously not the right location...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

geos_one
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 19. May 2009, 00:08
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: AMD RM-70

Post by geos_one » Mon 7. Sep 2009, 10:52

and to add another one i am using now http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=373878
http://amdath800.dyndns.org/amd/tpc-0.12.rar

it supports my zm-82 modell

yes the northbridge controll schould go into another cat

iw ould suggest /sys/devices/system/cpu/northbridge/phc_control ...

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable