acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
Post Reply
AndreasMeier
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 30. Nov 2008, 12:29

acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

Post by AndreasMeier » Sun 30. Nov 2008, 12:42

Hi there,

first of all, thank you "the fallen" for linux-phc. It is great and brings my Thinkpad to a more quit and cool use. Really great.

I used kernel 2.6.24 for a couple of time with phc right now and it was running fine.
Now I want to upgrade to kernel 2.6.26 and want to patch it with the 0.3.2-patch.

Most of the steps were running fine (except that I had to copy the Module.symvers-file first, because of the missing symbol-warning), but at the test, I ran into the following problem (the message I got from dmesg):

Code: Select all

acpi_cpufreq: disagrees about version of symbol struct_module
For the test, I did the following steps:
1.) unload the current acpi-cpufreq: modprobe -r acpi_cpufreq
2.) load the patched version:

Code: Select all

insmod /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.26/linux-source-2.6.26/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko
Can you please provide some next steps in order to get the module running ?

Thank you very much in advance,
regards
Andreas

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

Post by the-fallen » Sun 30. Nov 2008, 13:10

Hey Andreas,

first I have to redirect your Thanks to everyone helping to create and maintain PHC.

Your Problem is new to me. Could you recompile the module without copying Module.symvers ? Just ignore the warning.

AndreasMeier
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 30. Nov 2008, 12:29

Re: acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

Post by AndreasMeier » Mon 1. Dec 2008, 23:10

In another Posting you wrote in German, so to simplify matters I write in German.
If needed in English, please use a Online-Translator or post here, that the whole stuff is needed in Englisch. We can also post a summary if the problem is solved.

So...
- hab erstmal die Quellen gelöscht und neu entpackt
- config aus /boot reinkopiert
- Patch 0.3.2 reinkopiert
- make oldconfig ausgeführt
- make prepare ausgeführt
- make scripts ausgeführt
- patch -p1 < linux-0.3.2-patch ausgeführt
- make M=arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq ausgeführt
=> Warnung erhalten:

Code: Select all

WARNING: Symbol version dump /usr/src/linux-source-2.6.26/linux-source-2.6.26/Module.symvers
           is missing; modules will have no dependencies and modversions.
ansonsten durchgelaufen.

Dann weiter:
- modprobe -r acpi_cpufreq ausgeführt
- insmod arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko ausgeführt

Code: Select all

insmod: error inserting 'arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko': -1 Invalid module format
erhalten.

Wenn ich dann wie im Workaround beschrieben, die Datei Module.Symvers aus dem Headers-Verzeichnis reinkopiere, erhalte ich zuerst gepostete Disagree-Versions-Fehlermeldung.

Kannst Du damit was anfangen ?
Danke für Deine Hilfe,
Gruß
Andreas
Last edited by AndreasMeier on Tue 2. Dec 2008, 08:37, edited 1 time in total.

AndreasMeier
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 30. Nov 2008, 12:29

Re: acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

Post by AndreasMeier » Tue 2. Dec 2008, 08:35

Nochwas:
nach dem Versuch, per insmod das neu kompilierte Modul zu laden (inkl. o.g. Fehlermeldung), erscheint dann unter dmesg:

Code: Select all

acpi_cpufreq: no symbol version for struct_module
Gruß
Andreas

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: acpi_cpufreq:disagrees about version of symbol struct_module

Post by the-fallen » Tue 2. Dec 2008, 17:51

Hmh, diese Fehler treten eigentlich nur auf wenn du beim kompilieren die falschen Sourcen oder Header - Versionen hast.

Zum Beispiel wenn du den Standart-Ubuntukernel hast aber Vanilla-Sourcen nimmst um ein Modul zu kompilieren. Auch wenn der Kernel die gleiche Version hat kommt es dann zu diesem Problem.

Ansonsten kenne ich dieses PRoblem nicht - kann also gut sein dass es auch andere Gründe haben kann. Vielleicht finde ich beim googlen was, dann schreibe ich.

Post Reply