[solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
Thomas1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 14. May 2012, 09:08
Location: Chiang Mai (Thailand)
Contact:

[solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by Thomas1965 » Mon 14. May 2012, 09:28

Have new blank Ubuntu 12.04 (3.2.xx) installation with all availiable Updates,
on AMD 64 +3000
(which works with RightMark CPU Clock Utility under WinXP very well)
using phc-k8_v0.4.4 with change of

Code: Select all

if 2.6
...

followed the install (http://linuxsolver.blogspot.com/2011/02 ... buntu.html) i stock
now at

Code: Select all

sudo make install dkms_mkdeb
got

Code: Select all

make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build SUBDIRS= phc-k8.ko
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
  HOSTCC  scripts/basic/fixdep
  HOSTCC  scripts/kconfig/conf.o
  HOSTCC  scripts/kconfig/zconf.tab.o
  HOSTLD  scripts/kconfig/conf
scripts/kconfig/conf --silentoldconfig Kconfig
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
  CHK     include/linux/version.h
  CHK     include/generated/utsrelease.h
  UPD     include/generated/utsrelease.h
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `kernel/bounds.c', needed by `kernel/bounds.s'.  Stop.
make[1]: *** [prepare0] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
make: *** [phc-k8.ko] Error 2
later

Code: Select all

make install dkms_mkdeb
i got

Code: Select all

make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
  CC [M]  /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/phc-k8.o
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/phc-k8.mod.o
  LD [M]  /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/phc-k8.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build SUBDIRS=/home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4 mperf.ko
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
  CC [M]  /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/mperf.o
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/mperf.mod.o
  LD [M]  /home/thomas/Downloads/phc-k8_v0.4.4/mperf.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-3.2.0-24-generic-phc'
install -m 644 -o root -g root phc-k8.modprobe /etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.conf
install: cannot remove `/etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.conf': Permission denied
make: *** [install] Error 1
after

Code: Select all

sudo rm phc-k8.conf
remove

again

Code: Select all

make dkms_mkdeb
now allways

Code: Select all

make: ***[b] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.[/b]  Stop.
testing with

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe -r acpi-cpufreq
and

Code: Select all

sudo modprobe phc-k8
gives me

Code: Select all

FATAL: Module phc_k8 not found.
As I wait for help (I have to to install the PHC on another 3 PC AMD from me, as here in Thailand it is very hot, makes sence to cool down CPU) i search eben myself for a solution.

Thanks.
Last edited by Thomas1965 on Mon 14. May 2012, 18:49, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: Install failure with No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'

Post by DavidG » Mon 14. May 2012, 15:34

I don't know where the "dkms_mkdeb" comes from, it's probably supported by phc_intel, but it sure isn't supported for phc-k8 (and it isn't necessary either). If dkms is available (= installed), all you will need to do as root is

Code: Select all

make dkms_install
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Thomas1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 14. May 2012, 09:08
Location: Chiang Mai (Thailand)
Contact:

Re: [solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by Thomas1965 » Mon 14. May 2012, 18:52

thanks that worked,
(and found now another 2 older posts with similar failure ...)
I finished until

Code: Select all

sudo ./install.sh
and after relogin and doing links

Code: Select all

sudo ln **your path**/phctool.sh /usr/bin/phctool
sudo ln **your path**/phctray.sh /usr/bin/phctray
worked.

No, after

Code: Select all

sudo phctool
nothing happen = new problmen, I am searching ehre for solutions ...
but first a restart - never know

as we need that later sure:

Code: Select all

$ lsmod|grep k8
powernow_k8            22612  0 
mperf                  12667  1 powernow_k8
k8temp                 13057  0 

Code: Select all

$ dmesg|grep k8
[   16.998161] powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ (1 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[   16.998243] powernow-k8: fid 0xc (2000 MHz), vid 0x2
[   16.998246] powernow-k8: fid 0xa (1800 MHz), vid 0x6
[   16.998248] powernow-k8: fid 0x2 (1000 MHz), vid 0x12
[  522.309093] phc-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ (1 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)

Code: Select all

$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor	: 0
vendor_id	: AuthenticAMD
cpu family	: 15
model		: 12
model name	: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+
stepping	: 0
microcode	: 0x3a
cpu MHz		: 1000.000
cache size	: 512 KB
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 1
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow up rep_good nopl
bogomips	: 1994.78
TLB size	: 1024 4K pages
clflush size	: 64
cache_alignment	: 64
address sizes	: 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp

Code: Select all

$ dmesg |grep acpi
[    0.000000] If you got timer trouble try acpi_use_timer_override
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x00] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x00] high edge lint[0x1])
[    0.132026] Switching to clocksource acpi_pm
[    0.447035] pata_acpi 0000:00:08.0: setting latency timer to 64
[   22.372309] Switching to clocksource acpi_pm

Code: Select all

$ dmesg |grep ACPI
[    0.000000]  BIOS-e820: 000000007fff0000 - 000000007fff3000 (ACPI NVS)
[    0.000000]  BIOS-e820: 000000007fff3000 - 0000000080000000 (ACPI data)
[    0.000000] ACPI: RSDP 00000000000f6a50 00014 (v00 XPC   )
[    0.000000] ACPI: RSDT 000000007fff3000 0002C (v01 XPC    AWRDACPI 42302E31 AWRD 00000000)
[    0.000000] ACPI: FACP 000000007fff3040 00074 (v01 XPC    AWRDACPI 42302E31 AWRD 00000000)
[    0.000000] ACPI: DSDT 000000007fff30c0 048BD (v01 XPC        SN85 00001000 MSFT 0100000E)
[    0.000000] ACPI: FACS 000000007fff0000 00040
[    0.000000] ACPI: APIC 000000007fff7980 0006E (v01 XPC    AWRDACPI 42302E31 AWRD 00000000)
[    0.000000] ACPI: Local APIC address 0xfee00000
[    0.000000] Nvidia board detected. Ignoring ACPI timer override.
[    0.000000] ACPI: PM-Timer IO Port: 0x4008
[    0.000000] ACPI: Local APIC address 0xfee00000
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x00] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
[    0.000000] ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x00] high edge lint[0x1])
[    0.000000] ACPI: IOAPIC (id[0x02] address[0xfec00000] gsi_base[0])
[    0.000000] ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 0 global_irq 2 dfl dfl)
[    0.000000] ACPI: BIOS IRQ0 pin2 override ignored.
[    0.000000] ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 9 global_irq 9 high level)
[    0.000000] ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 14 global_irq 14 high edge)
[    0.000000] ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 15 global_irq 15 high edge)
[    0.000000] ACPI: IRQ9 used by override.
[    0.000000] ACPI: IRQ14 used by override.
[    0.000000] ACPI: IRQ15 used by override.
[    0.000000] Using ACPI (MADT) for SMP configuration information
[    0.022173] ACPI: Core revision 20110623
[    0.072003] PM: Registering ACPI NVS region at 7fff0000 (12288 bytes)
[    0.072176] ACPI: bus type pci registered
[    0.073583] ACPI: Added _OSI(Module Device)
[    0.073585] ACPI: Added _OSI(Processor Device)
[    0.073587] ACPI: Added _OSI(3.0 _SCP Extensions)
[    0.073589] ACPI: Added _OSI(Processor Aggregator Device)
[    0.074512] ACPI: EC: Look up EC in DSDT
[    0.075632] ACPI: Actual Package length (6) is larger than NumElements field (3), truncated
[    0.077938] ACPI: Interpreter enabled
[    0.077942] ACPI: (supports S0 S1 S3 S4 S5)
[    0.077967] ACPI: Using IOAPIC for interrupt routing
[    0.083228] ACPI: No dock devices found.
[    0.083238] PCI: Ignoring host bridge windows from ACPI; if necessary, use "pci=use_crs" and report a bug
[    0.083302] ACPI: PCI Root Bridge [PCI0] (domain 0000 [bus 00-ff])
[    0.084714] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0._PRT]
[    0.084795] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.HUB0._PRT]
[    0.084884] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.PCI0.AGPB._PRT]
[    0.110077] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK1] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110129] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK2] (IRQs 3 4 *5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110190] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK3] (IRQs *3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110242] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK4] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 *11 12 14 15)
[    0.110295] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK5] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 *14 15)
[    0.110344] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LUBA] (IRQs 3 *4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110394] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LUBB] (IRQs 3 *4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110443] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LMAC] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 *10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110491] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LAPU] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110541] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LACI] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 *7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110589] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LMCI] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110640] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LSMB] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 *10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110693] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LUB2] (IRQs 3 *4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15)
[    0.110744] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LFIR] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110793] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [L3CM] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110841] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LIDE] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110899] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LSID] (IRQs 3 4 5 6 7 9 10 11 12 14 15) *0, disabled.
[    0.110945] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC1] (IRQs *16), disabled.
[    0.110984] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC2] (IRQs *17)
[    0.111022] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC3] (IRQs *18)
[    0.111060] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC4] (IRQs *19)
[    0.111098] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC5] (IRQs *16)
[    0.111164] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCF] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0
[    0.111228] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCG] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0
[    0.111292] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCH] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0
[    0.111356] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCI] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.111421] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCJ] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0
[    0.111486] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCK] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.111527] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCS] (IRQs *23)
[    0.111595] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCL] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0
[    0.111663] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCM] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.111728] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [AP3C] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.111793] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCZ] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.111864] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APSI] (IRQs 20 21 22) *0, disabled.
[    0.112614] PCI: Using ACPI for IRQ routing
[    0.123191] pnp: PnP ACPI init
[    0.123221] ACPI: bus type pnp registered
[    0.123386] system 00:00: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0c02 (active)
[    0.123709] system 00:01: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0c01 (active)
[    0.123852] pnp 00:02: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0a03 (active)
[    0.124444] system 00:03: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0c02 (active)
[    0.124515] pnp 00:04: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0200 (active)
[    0.124585] pnp 00:05: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0b00 (active)
[    0.124635] pnp 00:06: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0800 (active)
[    0.124693] pnp 00:07: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0c04 (active)
[    0.125274] pnp 00:08: Plug and Play ACPI device, IDs PNP0303 PNP030b (active)
[    0.125299] pnp: PnP ACPI: found 9 devices
[    0.125301] ACPI: ACPI bus type pnp unregistered
[    0.138881] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCF] enabled at IRQ 22
[    0.208136] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCG] enabled at IRQ 21
[    0.280128] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCL] enabled at IRQ 20
[    0.432640] ACPI: Power Button [PWRB]
[    0.432715] ACPI: Power Button [PWRF]
[    0.432779] ACPI: Fan [FAN] (on)
[    0.435141] ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (40 C)
[    1.014626] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC4] enabled at IRQ 19
[    1.016731] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCH] enabled at IRQ 22
[    1.172293] ata2: nv_mode_filter: 0x739f&0x739f->0x739f, BIOS=0x7000 (0xc000) ACPI=0x701f (60:600:0x13)
[    1.685543] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC3] enabled at IRQ 18
[   15.446925] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC5] enabled at IRQ 16
[   15.911165] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APCJ] enabled at IRQ 21
[ 3239.218109] ACPI: resource it87 [io  0x0295-0x0296] conflicts with ACPI region SPIO [io 0x295-0x296]
[ 3239.218115] ACPI: If an ACPI driver is available for this device, you should use it instead of the native driver
Last edited by Thomas1965 on Tue 15. May 2012, 05:46, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: [solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by DavidG » Mon 14. May 2012, 19:37

Everything seems to be working now.
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq should contain a phc_vids entry containing "2 6 18". To use the voltages as in CPU Rightmark, you probably need this formula:
voltage = 1.550 - 0.025 * vid

In other words, the voltages that are being used right now are:
2000MHz => 1.500V
1800MHz => 1.400V
1000MHz => 1.100V

To translate from CPU RM to vid, you should use the reverse formula: vid = (1.550 - voltage)/0.025

E.g. to use:
2000MHz => 1.350V
1800MHz => 1.250V
1000MHz => 0.900V

You should do:

Code: Select all

echo 8 12 26|sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_vids
Or using fid:vid pairs in phc_controls, you can use:

Code: Select all

echo 12:8 10:12 2:26|sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls
This is an example and these values might not work at all for your CPU of course...

Unfortunately I'm not really familiar with phctool, I always use the phc_controls interface. For more information an more extensive options, take a look at the phc-k8 README as well... "Direct transitions" unlocking all FIDs is also supported, just like in CPU RM
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Thomas1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 14. May 2012, 09:08
Location: Chiang Mai (Thailand)
Contact:

Re: [solved] install PHCTools

Post by Thomas1965 » Mon 14. May 2012, 20:40

Thanks,
I made the change to VID, but

first I will restart again after had a look at WINXP RightMArkt, Screenshot to see
what Freq and VID was working.

My last Problems:
I got PHCTool once started, but didnt remember how after long search again,
no way, i get to old ... phctool.sh, klick and Open / Run - need to enter password - but nothing.
Same as start with Tray ...


Search for show avtual vid in Terminal


and Important, I want to have MORE Freq then now:
now: 2000000 1800000 1000000
new: 2000000 1800000 1600000 1400000 1200000 1000000 800000
(die 800000 sind wichtig)

Image
So it looks in WinXP, and important the low 800.000

Here my work order for tomorrow, my monile
Image

then the next ..., is too hot here.

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: [solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by DavidG » Mon 14. May 2012, 21:23

To enable those frequencies, set the module parameter "direct_transitions" to 1. You can edit the file at /etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.conf which is installed together with the dkms install. To enable new frequencies (or disable existing) you must use the phc_controls interface, e.g.:

Code: Select all

echo 12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26|sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls
Since 800MHz is probably *not* supported by your processor, it is disabled by default, you'll need to add the module parameter "min_800MHz=1" if you know it is safe. Please tell me if it is - I'd like some additional information in that case to improve the driver...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Thomas1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 14. May 2012, 09:08
Location: Chiang Mai (Thailand)
Contact:

Re: direct_transitions, echo 12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26

Post by Thomas1965 » Mon 14. May 2012, 21:49

oh i got confused:
set the module parameter "direct_transitions" to 1.
so in /etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.conf i took the # away, now is (edited, as old version wrong, without 'min_800MHz=1')

Code: Select all

options phc-k8 direct_transitions=1 min_800MHz=1

Code: Select all

echo 12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26|sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls
delivers

Code: Select all

tee: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls: Invalid argument
Still I cant open the GUI PHCTool, crazy
edit: gruppe phctool is seen, I put myself into that group.
but when I try to start phctool.sh, I see just for about 8 sec a new sysbol in the dash but no gui of phctools

As I am beginner in Ubuntu and shell, I have to train sure using right commands first.
edit 2: wow, I have no idea what i changes, but it runs now:

Code: Select all

$ echo 12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26|sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls
[sudo] password for thomas: ****
12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26
Last edited by Thomas1965 on Tue 15. May 2012, 05:56, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: direct_transitions, echo 12:4 10:8 8:13 6:17 4:21 2:26

Post by DavidG » Mon 14. May 2012, 23:56

Of course, you'll need to unload and load the module before the module options take effect - did you do that?

Indeed to force-enable 800MHz, you'll have to change the line in /etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.conf to:

Code: Select all

options phc-k8 direct_transitions=1 min_800MHz=1
Could you please install msr-tools, then do "sudo modprobe msr" and send me the output of:

Code: Select all

sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010041
sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010042
These MSRs are the two CPU registers involved in the power/frequency management, I suspect the "STARTFID" encoded in the second register *might* actually be the lowest possible fid, but I do not have any proof for that assumption.
By the way, at 800MHz the memory runs quite a bit slower, I always suspected that is why a lot of CPU's freeze when jumping to 800MHz...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Thomas1965
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 14. May 2012, 09:08
Location: Chiang Mai (Thailand)
Contact:

Re: [solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by Thomas1965 » Tue 15. May 2012, 05:11

Hey David,

I am happy about your help! Thank you !
as I know myself since 8 years donig webpages shelter older people from wrong and bad winning notifications with about 7.000 hits a week and 150 mails to answer. I programm php webpage myself at http://www.gewinnbriefe.de/ as most of my domains ... I started early with Commodore C64 but lost later vonnect to programming.

So here we go on:
/etc/modprobe.d/phc-k8.con (a mistake, I had the min 800 in extra line, now like youo told)

installed msr-tools, then did "sudo modprobe msr"

Code: Select all

$ sudo modprobe msr
$ sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010041
0000000100001202
$ sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010042
00000212000c0c02
no mistakes or warnings.
Will rebot now,
but I still cant open the phctool.sh :oops:

What kind of programms should sure not be installed now ?
I still have running the tool 'CPU Frequency Scaling Indicator' (autosyart), where i see still govenor on demand or powersave used

edit:
I did some compare between my AMD-64-3000 Desktop and AMD-64-3200 Mobile
- both start with generic-phc version (Desktop with 3.2 - Mobile with 3.0)
- both starting the 'CPU Frequency Scaling Indicator'
- both have similar autostart for the PHCTray (starting not in Desktop, but start in Mobile yes)
- on Desktop can't start PHC Tools, at Mobile I can start it, but empty Voltages, here also no PHC files in sys/devises/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: [solved] No rule to make target `dkms_mkdeb'.

Post by DavidG » Tue 15. May 2012, 09:51

Thomas1965 wrote:

Code: Select all

$ sudo modprobe msr
$ sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010041
0000000100001202
$ sudo rdmsr -x0 -p0 0xc0010042
00000212000c0c02
Thank you, you have been very helpful, unfortunately it seems I cannot use the "StartFid" as lower boundary, it is 0xC in your case which is the upper limit, In my case it contains the lower limit, I probably need to stick with the min_800MHz option. I'm still hoping to find a way to distinguish processors that do support the 800MHz.
no mistakes or warnings.
Will reboot now,
but I still cant open the phctool.sh :oops:
If I have time, I'll look into phctool, it's been very long since I used it, I'm using /etc/rc.local and echo to the phc_controls interface, I have little experienced with the tool. But AFAIK the phctool section of this forum contained some fixes and/or pointers for usage with AMD.
edit:
I did some compare between my AMD-64-3000 Desktop and AMD-64-3200 Mobile
- both start with generic-phc version (Desktop with 3.2 - Mobile with 3.0)
- both starting the 'CPU Frequency Scaling Indicator'
- both have similar autostart for the PHCTray (starting not in Desktop, but start in Mobile yes)
- on Desktop can't start PHC Tools, at Mobile I can start it, but empty Voltages, here also no PHC files in /sys/devises/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
I hadn't realized you have two different setups, but for mobile processors the voltage calculation is probably a bit different, as described in the README (If I remember correctly: 1.450 - vid/0.025) .
If there isn't a phc_controls or phc_vids file, it seems logical that you have empty voltages. You can check /sys/devises/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_driver to see what kernel module is used, it should contain "phc-k8" but I suspect it still contains powernow-k8...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable