AMD Athlon X2 QL-66 no phc_files (karmic)

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
Post Reply
hummlbach
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 4. Dec 2010, 03:28

AMD Athlon X2 QL-66 no phc_files (karmic)

Post by hummlbach » Sat 4. Dec 2010, 04:09

Hello Everybody!

Like some others i'm having the problem of no phc_* files showing up in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq.

Code: Select all

$ ls /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
affected_cpus               ondemand                       scaling_governor
cpb                         related_cpus                   scaling_max_freq
cpuinfo_cur_freq            scaling_available_frequencies  scaling_min_freq
cpuinfo_max_freq            scaling_available_governors    scaling_setspeed
cpuinfo_min_freq            scaling_cur_freq               stats
cpuinfo_transition_latency  scaling_driver
Mostly the problem with this seemed to be unsupported cpu - but in my case I think the cpu is supported...?!
As denoted in the subject the cpu is an Athlon X2 QL-66.

I've installed (via apt-get install linux-generic-phc linux-headers-generic-phc) and booted the phc-kernel:

Code: Select all

$ uname -a
Linux violet-sunshine 2.6.31-21-generic-phc #59~phc0-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 30 13:12:51 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux
and built (make dkms_install ...) and loaded the phc_k8 module (0.4.3):

Code: Select all

$ lsmod | grep phc
phc_k8                 23600  0 
mperf                   2308  1 phc_k8
(Should I post the hole lsmod output? are there some modules that may conflict with the phc_k8 module?)
dmesg says:

Code: Select all

[   13.240923] phc-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm)X2 DualCore QL-66 (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[   13.240977] phc-k8:    0 : pstate 0 (2200 MHz)
[   13.240979] phc-k8:    1 : pstate 1 (1100 MHz)
[   13.644231] sky2 eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control rx
[   13.645468] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth0: link becomes ready
[   14.057614] CPU0 attaching NULL sched-domain.
[   14.057627] CPU1 attaching NULL sched-domain.
[   14.101552] CPU0 attaching sched-domain:
[   14.101562]  domain 0: span 0-1 level MC
[   14.101567]   groups: 0 1
[   14.101578] CPU1 attaching sched-domain:
[   14.101582]  domain 0: span 0-1 level MC
[   14.101587]   groups: 1 0
Any ideas?
Thank you very much.
hummlbach

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Athlon X2 QL-66 no phc_files (karmic)

Post by DavidG » Sat 4. Dec 2010, 13:42

hummlbach wrote:Hello Everybody!

Like some others i'm having the problem of no phc_* files showing up in /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu*/cpufreq.

Code: Select all

$ ls /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
affected_cpus               ondemand                       scaling_governor
cpb                         related_cpus                   scaling_max_freq
cpuinfo_cur_freq            scaling_available_frequencies  scaling_min_freq
cpuinfo_max_freq            scaling_available_governors    scaling_setspeed
cpuinfo_min_freq            scaling_cur_freq               stats
cpuinfo_transition_latency  scaling_driver
Mostly the problem with this seemed to be unsupported cpu - but in my case I think the cpu is supported...?!
As denoted in the subject the cpu is an Athlon X2 QL-66.

...

dmesg says:

Code: Select all

[   13.240923] phc-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm)X2 DualCore QL-66 (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[   13.240977] phc-k8:    0 : pstate 0 (2200 MHz)
[   13.240979] phc-k8:    1 : pstate 1 (1100 MHz)
Any ideas?
Thank you very much.
hummlbach
AMD processors with PStates (family 10h and 11h) are not yet supported, but I'm planning to release an alpha version (probably: v0.4.4a1) soon that supports lowering the voltages via phc_vids for these processors. Frequency changing will not yet be supported, that would require a completely new driver and will take a lot more time...
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

hummlbach
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 4. Dec 2010, 03:28

Re: AMD Athlon X2 QL-66 no phc_files (karmic)

Post by hummlbach » Sat 4. Dec 2010, 17:29

AMD processors with PStates (family 10h and 11h) are not yet supported, but I'm planning to release an alpha version (probably: v0.4.4a1) soon that supports lowering the voltages via phc_vids for these processors. Frequency changing will not yet be supported, that would require a completely new driver and will take a lot more time...
Oh... Okay - then I'm looking forward to the alpha-release.
Thank you very much for your efforts!

hummlbach

User avatar
DavidG
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Contact:

Re: AMD Athlon X2 QL-66 no phc_files (karmic)

Post by DavidG » Thu 6. Jan 2011, 20:38

FWIW, I've uploaded an alpha2 release in Test-Releases that supports K10 processors (Phenom/Turion II, AMD II, etcetera).
A bank is a place where they lend you an umbrella in fair weather and ask for it back when it begins to rain -- R. Frost

Post Reply