Problems in installing PHC intel....

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Fri 2. Jul 2010, 22:52

Hi, I'm new to Linux. I had been following guide posted here(http://www.ullright.org/ullWiki/show/docid/129), however I couldn't go past step 7. It gives me the following output:
“simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ make prepare
FOUND AVAILABLE PATCHSET. PREPARING.
patching file phc-intel.c”
Then, when I type sudo rmmod acpi_cpufreq and sudo modprobe phc-intel it doesn't do anything. Also It doesn't seem to create /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_default_vids. I have run out of ideas...
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by the-fallen » Sat 3. Jul 2010, 20:09

Did you also run

# make
# sudo make install

after "make prepare" ?

adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Sat 3. Jul 2010, 20:19

Yes, I ran "make" and "sudo make install".
Edit: I have 2.6.32.23 kernel which phc module is recommended for me? Phc-intel-0.3.2-10 offtree supports 2.6.32.23, is that correct? I have 2 cores and there're running as hot as 90C under full load... When I used Rmclock in windows it wouln't heat higher than 70. Is such a significant result possible in Linux? The lowest voltage I used was 0.9500V and it didn't crush even a single time.
Edit 2: Still can't get it working... I will throw it out there:
"simaoo@ubuntu:~$ cd /home/simaoo/Downloads
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads$ cd /home/simaoo/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ make prepare
FOUND AVAILABLE PATCHSET. PREPARING.
patching file phc-intel.c
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ make
make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build SUBDIRS=/home/simaoo/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10 modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.32-23-generic-phc'
CC [M] /home/simaoo/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10/phc-intel.o
Building modules, stage 2.
MODPOST 1 modules
CC /home/simaoo/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10/phc-intel.mod.o
LD [M] /home/simaoo/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10/phc-intel.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.32-23-generic-phc'
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ sudo make install
[sudo] password for simaoo:
install -m 644 -o root -g root phc-intel.modprobe /etc/modprobe.d/phc-intel.conf
mkdir -p /lib/modules/2.6.32-23-generic-phc/extra
install -m 644 -o root -g root phc-intel.ko /lib/modules/2.6.32-23-generic-phc/extra/
depmod 2.6.32-23-generic-phc -a
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ sudo rmmod acpi_cpufreq
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$ sudo modprobe phc-intel
simaoo@ubuntu:~/Downloads/phc-intel-0.3.2-10$"
acpi_cpufreq and modprobe doesn't do anything.

adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Sun 4. Jul 2010, 00:21

Wow, I have made it. But when I started the test my OS has frozen and then rebooted. After the reboot I had an error: No discs found or something. That's ridiculous! What should I do now...

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by the-fallen » Sun 4. Jul 2010, 10:00

rmmod and modprobe do not tell you anything if everything worked so I assume it really loaded the phc_intel module.

You can check that with "dmesg" which should tell you something or if there are a lot of files under
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/
then you can assume it is working (to that part).

The system may freeze if you set a VID that is too low for a stable run. You should try to step down one by one and test every VID using "burncpu", "mprime" or any program that will stress your CPU a bit.

The "no disc found" - message shouln't have something to do with PHC since it does not touch something on the disc. But I hope you already fixed it (what ever the reason is).

adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Sun 4. Jul 2010, 10:56

Well, I made to work. But during the voltage test the OS crashed... and now I can't boot because it reports that no disks were found, GRUB-pc configuration files missing, coincidence, eh? :(

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by the-fallen » Sun 4. Jul 2010, 13:50

It is possible that crashing a system causes a defective file-system. But modern file-systems should prevent that. You could try to use a boot-cd/usb-stick to boot a Linux system and then run a file-system check on the partition where grub is installed to.

You can also try to reinstall grub (if it's really grub which is defective) but that may be a bit tricky (but it can be done).

But I really wonder what went wrong.

adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Sun 4. Jul 2010, 14:11

Yeah, it's strange indeed. When I installed Linux I straight away applied all the available upgrades, however OS always crashed after I installed custom kernel ("sudo apt-get install build-essential linux-generic-phc linux-headers-generic-phc") without even installing PHC... I'm not a Linux expert so I don't know what's wrong :? I so don't want to come back to Windows! God help me!
Edit: Damn its 32C in Moscow, my lappy is gunna burn slowly :roll: By the way, Is your undervolting guide still valid?

adjikas
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri 2. Jul 2010, 20:21
Location: Russia

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by adjikas » Tue 13. Jul 2010, 23:16

Suuuu, no ideas yet? Meh, everytime I install 2.6.33 OS crashes all of a sudden. The screen doesn't update and stuff.. so I guess its not phc problem after all. Btw, is it possible to import my voltages from Right Mark CPU Utility (Rmclock or summat) to phc? For example I had 0.9500V VID for 6.0x FID and 1.000V VID for 11.0x FID (it didn't crash at all even when playing games n stuff) :) How to write it in phc manner? :o

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: Problems in installing PHC intel....

Post by the-fallen » Wed 14. Jul 2010, 17:21

You can calculate the Voltage to VID.

voltage (in Volts) = (712.5 + (VID * 12.5))/1000 (Core / Core2 only)


But I guess there is a way to see your VIDs in Windows, too.
I am not sure but I think I have seen them with rmclock or NHC or something.
They have to calculate them, too because internally the CPU only uses VIDs, not Voltages.

Post Reply