E2180 Desktop CPU support

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
Post Reply
innomatics
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 25. May 2010, 14:58

E2180 Desktop CPU support

Post by innomatics » Tue 25. May 2010, 15:11

Hi I am trying to undervolt my E2180 for use in a HTPC setup.

So far I have managed to install on Karmic OK running 2.6.31-21-generic-phc

I seem to be able to manipulate the vids via the interface:

Code: Select all

root@element:/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq# cat phc_default_controls phc_controls 
10:40 8:35 6:29 
10:22 8:18 6:14 
But its not really working...

Code: Select all

root@element:~/read_msr.py --readmsr
MSRTOOL V0.2pre-3 started...

[cpu0] [CURRENT] FID:10 HID:0 DID:0 VID:29 
[cpu0] [TARGET]  FID:10 HID:0 DID:0 VID:22 
[cpu0] [HIGHEST] FID:10 (HID:0 DID:0) VID:40 (not sure if they exist here)
[cpu0] [LOWEST]  FID:10 (HID:0 DID:0) VID:40 (not sure if they exist here)
[cpu0] [SLFM]    FID:6 VID:22 
[cpu0] [IDA]     FID:10 VID:40 
[cpu0] [CURRENTLY ACTIVE FEATURES] IDA:64 EIST:1

[cpu1] [CURRENT] FID:10 HID:0 DID:0 VID:29 
[cpu1] [TARGET]  FID:10 HID:0 DID:0 VID:22 
[cpu1] [HIGHEST] FID:10 (HID:0 DID:0) VID:40 (not sure if they exist here)
[cpu1] [LOWEST]  FID:10 (HID:0 DID:0) VID:40 (not sure if they exist here)
[cpu1] [SLFM]    FID:6 VID:22 
[cpu1] [IDA]     FID:10 VID:40 
[cpu1] [CURRENTLY ACTIVE FEATURES] IDA:64 EIST:1
Does this mean undervolting is not going to work? Could it be a motherboard issue? (there is no cpu voltage selection in the BIOS)

Please let me know what other info I should provide

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: E2180 Desktop CPU support

Post by the-fallen » Tue 25. May 2010, 19:08

Did you have tried to change the CPU speed to something else and back?
Because ( if your CPU is able use other VIDs ) it will only apply them at the time it switches to a frequency.

innomatics
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 25. May 2010, 14:58

Re: E2180 Desktop CPU support

Post by innomatics » Wed 26. May 2010, 03:56

Thanks for getting back. How exactly can I switch CPU freq?

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: E2180 Desktop CPU support

Post by the-fallen » Fri 25. Jun 2010, 16:55

If you use Gnome you can try the panel widget called ... hmm yes .. how is it called in english... I don't know, but you would find it.

If you want to do that on a terminal you can read available frequencies from

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[?]/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies

and then just write one of them to

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[?]/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

(do that to all cores you have on that CPU to be sure).

Post Reply