cpufreq folder is not in kernel...

If you have trouble with PHC you can ask and hope for help here.
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
dirtytofu
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

cpufreq folder is not in kernel...

Post by dirtytofu » Fri 16. Oct 2009, 19:24

Hello.

I'm pretty new to Linux, but I wanted to try undervolting my laptop (Pentium M Dothan) like I have done in XP so I tried to use linux-PHC, but I'm having some issues.

I downloaded the kernel source, used menuconfig to modularlize the "ACPI Processor P-States driver" and the built the kernel successfully following the instructions from the 9.04 sticky.

Now when I boot from the "phc001" kernel, the cpufreq folder is missing from /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/ folder.

Any help would be appreciated

the-fallen
Administrator
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: cpufreq folder is not in kernel...

Post by the-fallen » Sat 17. Oct 2009, 16:33

Seems that your system does not load acpi-cpufreq / phc-intel or speedstep-centrino.

The "cpufreq" folder is an input/output interface to the cpufreq scaling driver.
speedstep-centrino (deprecated) or acpi-cpufreq (and so phc-intel that is a just a renamed acpi-cpufreq) is creating this folder.

If it does not exist either the driver is not there or not loaded by the system or fails to load.

After building your kernel, do you build the phc-offtree package?
If so, normally the driver should load. Manually loading can be done by "sudo modprobe phc-intel".