mobile sandy bridge (i3): "CPU not recognized"

If you run into trouble with PHCTool you can ask for help here.
Post Reply
tliketea
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 25. Feb 2012, 23:35

mobile sandy bridge (i3): "CPU not recognized"

Post by tliketea » Thu 26. Jul 2012, 13:23

Howdy,

I followed the linuxsolver tutorial for using PHCTool in 12.04 several times now. Everything seems to be working (no errors), but the GUI tool shows me "CPU not recognized - calculation not available" ...

cat /proc/cpuinfo gives:

Code: Select all


processor	: 0
vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
cpu family	: 6
model		: 42
model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2350M CPU @ 2.30GHz
stepping	: 7
microcode	: 0x1b
cpu MHz		: 800.000
cache size	: 3072 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 4
core id		: 1
cpu cores	: 2
apicid		: 3
initial apicid	: 3
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 13
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer xsave avx lahf_lm arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips	: 4589.36
clflush size	: 64
cache_alignment	: 64
address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:
lsmod gives:

Code: Select all

Module                  Size  Used by
snd_hrtimer            12744  1 
pci_stub               12622  1 
vboxpci                23200  0 
vboxnetadp             13382  0 
vboxnetflt             23441  0 
vboxdrv               287082  3 vboxpci,vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt
phc_intel              18321  1 
mperf                  12667  1 phc_intel
cpufreq_stats          13364  0 
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     32474  1 
snd_hda_codec_realtek   223867  1 
rfcomm                 47604  0 
bnep                   18281  2 
bluetooth             180104  10 rfcomm,bnep
parport_pc             32866  0 
ppdev                  17113  0 
binfmt_misc            17540  1 
snd_hda_intel          33773  3 
snd_hda_codec         127706  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              13668  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                97188  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq_midi           13324  0 
arc4                   12529  2 
ath9k                 132390  0 
mac80211              506816  1 ath9k
snd_rawmidi            30748  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event     14899  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                61896  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer              29990  3 snd_hrtimer,snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device         14540  3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
i915                  468745  4 
drm_kms_helper         46978  1 i915
max6650                14329  0 
drm                   242038  5 i915,drm_kms_helper
ath9k_common           14053  1 ath9k
snd                    78855  17 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
ath9k_hw              411112  2 ath9k,ath9k_common
psmouse                87692  0 
mei                    41616  0 
coretemp               13525  0 
acer_wmi               28418  0 
joydev                 17693  0 
sparse_keymap          13890  1 acer_wmi
i2c_algo_bit           13423  1 i915
mac_hid                13253  0 
ath                    24067  3 ath9k,ath9k_common,ath9k_hw
cfg80211              205544  3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
soundcore              15091  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         18529  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
lp                     17799  0 
parport                46562  3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
video                  19596  1 i915
wmi                    19256  1 acer_wmi
serio_raw              13211  0 
usbhid                 47199  0 
hid                    99559  1 usbhid
atl1c                  41717  0 

Does linux PHC not support newer CPUs, i.e. is there a better way to go? Or did I just mess up :oops:

Happy to provide more info if needed!

Cheers
-T

User avatar
Docet
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed 23. Feb 2011, 18:30

Re: mobile sandy bridge (i3): "CPU not recognized"

Post by Docet » Wed 1. Aug 2012, 09:51

I think the post should be moved (or doubled) to phc Help (not phctool)

Cheers

lio
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed 2. Mar 2011, 18:37

Re: mobile sandy bridge (i3): "CPU not recognized"

Post by lio » Mon 13. Aug 2012, 22:01

Hi,

Which version of phc-intel did you install?
What does the sysfs interface look like?

Code: Select all

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/*/cpufreq/phc_vids
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/*/cpufreq/phc_fids
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/*/cpufreq/phc_controls
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/*/cpufreq/phc_default_controls
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/*/cpufreq/phc_default_vids
Dirk

User avatar
Docet
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed 23. Feb 2011, 18:30

Re: mobile sandy bridge (i3): "CPU not recognized"

Post by Docet » Tue 14. Aug 2012, 12:49

Hey

I though you were a bit busy to update... In these 24h (since I got my brand new CPU) I've been deep-searching in the net and I found that Sandybridge and Ivybridge are not supported by phc-intel. BTW I have a i7-3720QM on board.

Here comes the techical stuff...

They just messed up IA32_PERF_STATUS (0x198), IA32_PERF_CTL (0x199) and 0xCE.

Code: Select all

0xce 00080c10f8011a00
0x198 00001b6100000c00
0x199 0000000000000c00
Voltage monitoring on Sandybridge and Ivybridge is still available, but it seems that is no more linked to the voltage supply system, since it monitors slight changes on voltages too. As you can read from IA32 Intel manual (vol 3 tab 34-10) [there is an error in the tab, the right formula is just as it follows]:
Vcc = MSR_PERF_STATUS[47:32] * (float) 1/(2^13)

So, I was just about to mess up (heheheh) with phc patch, but I'd better ask you to do that.

I was able to undervolt by changing myself the msr 0x199, so the business is still open. I tried to modify the MSR_PERF_CTL[16:8], and it changed the output Vcc, without modifying the cpu freq.

So maybe the point is they changed the interface to those "VIDs"... try to take a look abt it

I've written the proper code to interface correctly with the next version of PHCtool (which I'm developing).

Anyway I wasn't able to find any link beetween new VIDs and Vcc, except the empirical regression from my hardware (which would be way too selfish )

If you need anything just pm me

Cheers

Post Reply