A problem with CPU throttling??

If you run into trouble with PHCTool you can ask for help here.
the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by the-fallen » Sat 19. Jul 2008, 15:06

Good to read that you made it.

Throttling is not important for PHC/Undervolting. Throttling just forces your CPU to keep in sleep modes longer, even if there is something to calculate.

If you are not sure if PHCTool really work compare /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_vids bevore and after setting values with phctool.
If the Values differ then PHCTool is working as expected.

rschwarze
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 14. Jul 2008, 12:28

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by rschwarze » Sun 20. Jul 2008, 20:06

Also, make sure to check the msr values to be sure that the voltage changes you are doing are really applied.

The only way to be 100% sure that the voltage changes are in effect would be to change to the highest frequency using cupfreq and then lowering the voltage for that frequency until the computer crashes.

Have fun,

Roman

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by the-fallen » Sun 20. Jul 2008, 20:40

As far as i remember PHCTool can read the msr values to display what VID currently really is in use.
Also I have added "read_msr" to the PHC Download section - a command line tool to read the msr values.
You can use both to verify if your settings are really applied.

Bob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 14. Jul 2008, 14:07

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by Bob » Tue 22. Jul 2008, 12:38

It would be nice to be able to read the voltage values with PHCTool.
Is it possible to enable the vcc calculation???

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by the-fallen » Tue 22. Jul 2008, 19:42

Bob wrote:It would be nice to be able to read the voltage values with PHCTool.
Does VID-Values reading work for you ?
If it works but PHC is not able to find the correct formula to calculate a value in "Volts" (something like "CPU unknown, voltage calculating not available" can be read from the CPU data tab) I just need the content of the file /proc/cpuinfo so I can add your CPU to the calculation list.

Bob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 14. Jul 2008, 14:07

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by Bob » Sat 26. Jul 2008, 08:47

Sound great!!
Here´s the content of cpuinfo:

Code: Select all

processor	: 0
vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
cpu family	: 6
model		: 23
model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T8100  @ 2.10GHz
stepping	: 6
cpu MHz		: 800.000
cache size	: 3072 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 2
core id		: 0
cpu cores	: 2
fdiv_bug	: no
hlt_bug		: no
f00f_bug	: no
coma_bug	: no
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 10
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm ida
bogomips	: 4193.82
clflush size	: 64

processor	: 1
vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
cpu family	: 6
model		: 23
model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T8100  @ 2.10GHz
stepping	: 6
cpu MHz		: 800.000
cache size	: 3072 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 2
core id		: 1
cpu cores	: 2
fdiv_bug	: no
hlt_bug		: no
f00f_bug	: no
coma_bug	: no
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 10
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm ida
bogomips	: 4189.56
clflush size	: 64

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by the-fallen » Sat 26. Jul 2008, 12:54

Hey thanks. I also need the output of phc_controls (/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls)
of the VIDs you got from PHCTool.

Bob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 14. Jul 2008, 14:07

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by Bob » Sat 26. Jul 2008, 13:01

That should not be a problem ;)
Here are the current values:

Code: Select all

75:31 74:27 8:23 6:19 136:15 

the-fallen
Administrator
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed 9. Jul 2008, 19:57

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by the-fallen » Sun 27. Jul 2008, 12:06

Hey, stand by I need some more time to extend PHCTool with a new formula. Seems that your CPU uses another formula than the older Core2-CPUs. Thats not a Problem.

But I wonder your FID's ... they seem not to be correct. Could you please download read_msr and give me the output,too ?

Bob
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 14. Jul 2008, 14:07

Re: A problem with CPU throttling??

Post by Bob » Sun 27. Jul 2008, 12:35

It seems I´m a real problem child :D
Here´s the msr content:

Code: Select all

Displaying data for CPU cpu0
/---------------------------------------
| Current VID: 19
| Current FID: 136
| Target VID:  15
| Target FID:  136
| Highest VID: 34
| Highest FID: 74
| Lowest VID:  23
| Lowest FID:  6
\---------------------------------------

Displaying data for CPU cpu1
/---------------------------------------
| Current VID: 19
| Current FID: 136
| Target VID:  15
| Target FID:  136
| Highest VID: 34
| Highest FID: 74
| Lowest VID:  23
| Lowest FID:  6
\---------------------------------------

Post Reply